What is the Presidents Cup

Overview golf tournaments

HomeGolf tournamentsPresidents Cup

The Presidents Cup is a biennial team competition for golf professionals. With the Ryder Cup as a model, the Presidents Cup compares the performance of the best golfers from the USA and the best golfers from the "rest of the world with the exception of Europe".

On the initiative of the US PGA Tour, the competition was first held in 1994 and named Presidents Cup in honor of the former US President Gerald Ford, who had taken over the patronage. In 1994 and 1996 the event took place in the USA, since 1998 the venue has been changing between the USA and a place elsewhere in the world, as with the Ryder Cup.

Game mode

As in the Ryder Cup, the teams consist of 12 players each and a non-playing captain who is responsible for the line-up variants. Unlike the Ryder Cup, the competition has been over 4 days since 2003 and all 12 players of each team are always involved in the 22 double encounters (foursomes and fourballs, 6 each on the 1st and 2nd day and then 5 each on the 3rd day , where everyone has to play at least once. On the last day, the game is played like the Ryder Cup, that is, 12 individual games take place. So it happens that a total of 34 points / matches are played out in the Presidents Cup, while in the Ryder Cup only 28. Another important difference is that in the event of an imminent draw, the decisive individual matches are played through a jump-off until a winner has been determined.


Importance of the Presidents Cup

The fight between the old world and the new world does not take place at the Presidents Cup. Not only the spectators of the international team get into euphoria, the players come from all corners of the world and fail to develop a team spirit like the European team at the Ryder Cup. The media interest is also much lower. And so, in the end, nobody cares when their own team loses. In the Ryder Cup, on the other hand, defeat equates to the end of the world. When in 2003 in the play-off between Ernie Els and Tiger Woods on the first extra holes no decision was made, they agreed on a tie. Nobody really cares about the result, back then the direct comparison of two of the best golfers in the world was more appealing.

And so everything is ultimately based on the Ryder Cup. The renowned continent comparison also has an impact on the hosting of the other team competitions. When the Ryder Cup was postponed to the following year in 2001 because of the terrible attacks on New York and Washington, the Presidents Cup also had to be postponed. Since then it has been held with an odd number in years, at the same time as the Seve Trophy.

Click here for the Presidents Cup 2011.


The winners of the last few years

yearplaceWinner (captain)Loser (captain)
2011Royal Melbourne Golf Club, AustraliaUSA (Fred Couples)19International (Greg Norman)15
2009Harding Park Golf Club, San Francisco, USAUSA (Fred Couples)19½International (Greg Norman)14½
2007Royal Montreal Golf Club, Quebec, KandaUSA (Jack Nicklaus)19½International (Gary Player)14½
2005Robert Trent Jones Golf Club, Virginia, USAUSA (Jack Nicklaus)18½International (Gary Player)15½
2003Fancourt Country Club, South AfricaUSA (Jack Nicklaus)17International (Gary Player)17
2000Robert Trent Jones Golf Club, Virginia, USAUSA (Ken Venturi)21½International (Peter Thomson)10½
1998Royal Melbourne Golf Club, AustraliaInternational (Peter Thomson)20½USA (Jack Nicklaus)11½
1996Robert Trent Jones Golf Club, Virginia, USAUSA (Arnold Palmer)13½International (Peter Thomson)12½
1994Robert Trent Jones Golf Club, Virginia, USAUSA (Hale Irwin)13½International (David Graham)12½