Who are the worst BJP leaders

Clear election victory for nationalist government in India

The election commission announced this final result on Friday evening (local time) after all around 600 million votes cast had been counted since Thursday. It was the clearest re-election of an Indian ruling party since the Congress Party, which had ruled for decades, received 352 seats in 1971 under then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

The Hindu nationalist BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party - Party of the Indian People) did much better than in the previous parliamentary election in 2014. At that time, with 282 seats, it was the first party in 30 years to achieve an absolute majority. Modi is expected to take the oath for his second five-year term in the coming week.

The second strongest force remains the Congress Party of opposition leader Rahul Gandhi, a grandson of Indira Gandhi. With 52 seats it improved slightly compared to its worst result five years ago when it came to only 44 seats.

78 women were among the election winners. That was 16 more than in the previous election. With women in parliament of only 14 percent, India is still behind many other countries, including Saudi Arabia and Afghanistan. In the German Bundestag, around 31 percent of the members of parliament are women.

In the most populous democracy in the world with around 1.3 billion inhabitants, the vote was held in seven phases over just under six weeks from April 11th to May 19th. Around 900 million people were eligible to vote. The turnout was around 67 percent.